Stuart M. Kaminsky Photo

Stuart M. Kaminsky

Born: Sep 29, 1934

Death: Oct 9, 2009

Birthplace: Chicago

Profession: Writer

Nationality: United States

Stuart M. Kaminsky

Date of Birth : Sep 29, 1934
Date of Death : Oct 9, 2009
Birth Place : Chicago

Stuart M. Kaminsky was an American mystery writer and film professor. He is known for three long-running series of mystery novels featuring the protagonists Toby Peters, a private detective in 1940s Hollywood; Inspector Porfiry Petrovich Rostnikov, a Moscow police inspector; and veteran Chicago police officer Abe Lieberman. A later series followed Lew Fonesca, a process server from Sarasota, Florida. Kaminsky's Inspector Rostnikov novel A Cold Red Sunrise received the 1989 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He earned six other Edgar nominations, most recently for the 2005 non-fiction book Behind the Mystery: Top Mystery Writers Interviewed, which was also nominated for an Anthony Award, a Macavity Award, and an Agatha Award. In 2006 Kaminsky received the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America.


  • Writer
  • Teacher
  • Author
  • Novelist

Also known as

  • Stuart Melvin Kaminsky
  • Stuart Kaminsky
  • S. Kaminsky


  • Dorothy Kaminsky
  • Leo Kaminsky


  • Merle Gordon
  • Enid Lisa Perll


  • Natasha Kaminsky
  • Peter Michael Kaminsky
  • Toby Arthur Kaminsky
  • Lucy Irene Kaminsky

Awards Won

  • Edgar Award for Best Novel
  • Edgar Grand Master Award
  • THE EYE – Lifetime Achievement Award
Source: Freebase, CC-YY
Copyright ©